Picture
The other day, when searching Flickr for inspiring photos for my forthcoming middle grade novel Ghosts on the River, (when I found that wonderful photo of the girls - see post below), I also came across a marvelous picture of two boys in a rowing boat which seemed to me to capture perfectly the essence of summertime and being young and having adventures which lies at the heart of Ghosts on the River.
As the photo is copyrighted I approached the owner to ask how much I could pay him to use the photo on my site and he kindly gave me permission to use it free of charge as he is a fellow writer! How incredibly kind perfect strangers can be! Thank you, Deak Wooten.

 
 
Picture
I found this photo on Flickr today - it is part of the Samuel J Hood Studio collection at the Australian National Maritime Museum. I love the girls' smiles - they remind me of two characters from my new novel for middle graders - Ghosts on the River, Freddie and Alex.
The novel is set in the halcyon days between World War I and World War II, at an English country manor house and on the river that runs through it's grounds.
Fans of 'Swallows and Amazons' by Arthur Ransome, 'Just William' by Richmal Crompton, Agatha Christie and PG Wodehouse should love this book!
More information on my 'Ghosts on the River' page....

 
 
One of my favorite things about writing is how it has enabled me to meet the most talented, interesting people - often other writers! One such person is time travel romance writer Bella Street from Tennessee. We happened to meet through the coincidence of her name being the same as my feisty girl detective Bella Street from my 'tween noir' novels.

Bella has written a LOT of books! The first ones I read were her bestselling Apocalypse Babes series - where a group of young adults find themselves far, far from home and where nothing is as it seems.  These books have deservedly received much acclaim and are very hard to put down!

Bella's great Tennessee Waltz series involves time travel and magic - Bella has a real gift at writing about different eras and I really hope to see more historical fiction from her.

For those of you who may not have read Bella's books yet, I am offering five free Kindle ebook copies of the first in her Apocalypse Babes series, The Z Word, and five free Kindle ebook copies of Kiss Me, I'm Irish, the first in her Tennessee Waltz series. Contact me in the comments box below. First come, first served! Check out Bella's site: BellaStreetWrites.com and her Facebook page for more from the author herself!

Bella was recently gracious enough to answer a few questions that I'd always wanted to ask her, not least where her passion for playing the fiddle comes from and what is her favorite Civil Wars song! (a girl who writes as she does, has to love the Civil Wars, I figured!)

Here are her answers!

What is it that draws you to writing about time travel?

It's the classic fish out of water theme--how does someone cope with a completely new environment? It's also an opportunity for someone to have their preconceived notions challenged when they find they are actually experiencing an event rather than just reading about it from a dusty library book. Add a little romance for extra tension.

What kind of research do you do about the different times and places you write about?

Research is one of the best parts because I learn new things as well. I use the internet, but always try to back it up with older source material via old books and newspapers.

What are some of your favorite time travel books?

Doomsday Book by Connie Willis is probably my favorite but I got my start early with A Wrinkle In Time by Madeleine L'engle. I've also read Outlander by Diana Gabaldon, Waterfall by Lisa Bergren, to name a few, but I started writing time-travel romance after being inspired by a Harlequin romance novel about a cowboy who comes forward in time to find a girl he'd met while she'd gone back in time. I think it was called A Man Out of Time.

What has been the inspiration behind your love of fiddle music?

Alison Krauss, primarily. But I've always loved the sound and really want to learn. I hardly ever practice because I have no talent, no ear, and so I kind of suck. But I keep trying :)

Do you have a soundtrack for each book you write?

Always. I need music to inspire me. I put playlists together while I write and eventually always associate the songs with the novel. My playlists thus far are for Tennessee Waltz and Apocalypse Babes. Lana Del Rey is my new musical crush, so her songs will probably figure heavily in my next works.

Which is your favorite Civil Wars song?!

ALL OF THEM. Omigosh they might be the best band on the planet. Special favs include: Barton Hollow, The Violet Hour, I Had Me A Girl, Eavesdrop, and their Smashing Pumpkins cover of Disarm.

How long does each book take you to write?

Ugh. Too long. Probably 4 to 6 months is the new average.

Who do you most admire in the writing world?

Every writer who puts out their magnum opus to the world. It's terrifying and a huge vulnerability.

You live in Tennessee - what influence do you think location has had on your writing?

After living on the West Coast with its majestic beauty, Tennessee has more of a genteel, delicate beauty. Within this seeming frailty are venomous snakes and bugs and killer humidity. Great contrasts there :)

In five years time, what would you like to be able to say about your writing journey?

That my future books are improved and my readers, happier :)

Thanks, Bella!

    Free Bella Street e-books!

 
 
The first book in my Constable Country Mysteries series, Writer's Block, is now available on Amazon! I am thrilled at this new venture into grown up mysteries! Buy the book here.
 
 
I am really excited to announce that my first murder mystery book for adults 'Writer's Block' will be published by bacon and eggs media shortly! Set in the Suffolk countryside, Constable Country, this English whodunnit could not be set in a more different world than the setting of my Bella Street books! 'Writer's Block' is the first in my 'Constable Country Mysteries' series. I'll keep you posted!


 
 
I am so proud to be a guest blogger on the Reading for Australia site which supports Australian children in their quest to win the international Kids' Lit Quiz. Check out the post here and read more about getting your school involved in the Quiz here
I am particularly proud to be involved with this initiative as one of the other 'Supporters' is a favourite author of mine, Isabelle Carmody. I love her 'Little Fur' series and her 'Kingdom of the Lost' series - fantastic and unique books which inspire young and old. (How great is the title 'A Fox Called Sorrow'?! Love it!)
 
 
The December ebook promotion will begin on Amazon on December 1 using Amazon's new Countdown offering!
 
 
Picture
I am thrilled to reveal the new cover for 'The Secret Formula'! The cover was designed by author and cover designer extraordinaire, Bella Street! Yes, I know it is an AMAZING coincidence but Bella Street the book designer and best selling author has designed the cover of a book about a girl called Bella Street! Bella based the cover around a wonderful illustration by Melbourne artist Kate McCartney. I love the new cover! Check out more of Bella's work here. Thanks Bella! Can't wait for the new 'Doc Gutson's Revenge' cover.

 
 
I have just finished reading Annabel Scheme, another book by Robin Sloan. What a great read! I also love the story behind how Robin Sloan raised the funds to publish Annabel Scheme on Kickstarter
 
 
 
    Sign up for my monthly newsletter

    powered by TinyLetter

    Picture
    Picture

     

    Clare lived for many years on a street in Manhattan just like the street where Bella lives. She now lives on a high cliff next to a lighthouse in Australia but luckily doesn't have to walk too far to buy bagels.

    Contact me through my Facebook page

    Picture

    What I'm reading

    One Hundred Miles from Manhattan
    Stoner
    The Unlikely Voyage of Jack de Crow: A Mirror Odyssey from North Wales to the Black Sea

    goodreads.com

    Archives

    July 2014
    June 2014
    May 2014
    February 2014
    November 2013
    October 2013
    June 2013
    November 2012
    September 2012
    July 2012
    June 2012
    May 2012
    April 2012
    March 2012
    January 2012
    December 2011
    November 2011